Call for Nominations: the Rosenblatt Prize for Excellence Deadline: Friday, Feb. 19, 2010

Deadline: Friday, Feb. 19, 2010

Nathan & Tillie Rosenblatt
Nathan and Tillie Rosenblatt

Established in 1983 by the family of Nathan and Tillie Rosenblatt to honor their parents, the Rosenblatt Prize for Excellence honors excellence in teaching, research and administrative efforts collectively or individually, in behalf of the University. The $40,000 prize is announced and presented annually at Commencement. It is particularly suited for faculty who are nationally recognized scholars with demonstrated excellence in teaching, research, service and/or administration. The generosity of the donors makes this prize one of the most remarkable in higher education.

Previous Rosenblatt Prize recipients are: Sterling McMurrin (philosophy/history, 1984), John Dixon (surgery, 1985), Milton Wadsworth (metallurgical engineering, 1986), David Grant (chemistry) and John Flynn (law), 1987, Irwin Altman (psychology, 1988) Harold Wolf (pharmacology and toxicology, 1989), John Roth (biology, 1990), Edwin Firmage (law, 1991), J.D. Williams (political science, 1992), Ray White (human genetics, 1993), Karen Lawrence (English, 1994), Peter Stang (chemistry, 1995), Anne Osborn (radiology, 1996), David Pershing (engineering, 1997), Mario Capecchi (human genetics, 1998), Dale Poulter (chemistry, 1999), Margaret Battin (philosophy) and Leslie Francis (law/philosophy), 2000, Francis Brown (geology & geophysics, 2001), Kristen Hawkes (anthropology, 2002), Sung Wan Kim (pharmaceutics, 2003), Gerald Stringfellow, (engineering, 2004), Jack Simons (chemistry, 2005), David Chapman (geology and geophysics, 2006), Mary Beckerle (biology, 2007), Robert Goldberg (history, 2008), and Zeev ‘Valy’ Vardeny (physics, 2009).

Nominations should include: a letter of nomination with supporting discussion indicating the candidate’s accomplishments; a current curriculum vitae; a minimum of five but no more than 10 letters of reference, a majority from referees external to the University; and a brief description of the referees’ qualifications and relationship to the nominee. For 2010, previous nominations made during and since 2007 will be carried forward. Also invited are re-nominations with additional information about the nominee. Send nominations and letters of support to:

Chuck Wight
2010 Rosenblatt Prize Committee
The Graduate School
201 Presidents Circle, Rm 302


Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *
FYI reserves the right to edit comments for content and clarity.

Imagine U

Campus Events Calendar

calendar 2

To view all campus events, please visit the Events Calendar

Learn More

Info for Researchers

Research Updates

Finding funding, spending grant money, and more...

Learn More

  • University of Utah
  • 201 Presidents Circle Room 201 SLC UT 84112
  • 801.581.6773
Imagine U